Skip to content

Good Men Project – Book, Film, Website

October 13, 2009

[tweetmeme source=”mypassionisbooks” only_single=false]

The Good Men Project

The Good Men Project

I recently had the pleasure of talking with Tom Matlack via email after posting a comment on his blog article here.

I really thought Good Men was a great topic for a book and would likely be read by not only men, but by women as well.  In my comment on the blog posting, I noted that “All the heroes have gone on walkabout, it’s great to see a book about the unsung heroes of the family. Fathers are very important in the life of a child; and father figures of all kinds are needed in a society where families tend to break up frequently.”

I was really surprised that publishers wouldn’t touch the book and didn’t think men would read it!

Well, Tom Matlack and others decided to go it alone and make it happen. The Good Men book, the (documentary) film, the website — the Good Men Project is well under way. The book Good Men is available for purchase now, and I have a feeling that it will do very well. They use the project to promote and help fund several non-profit groups that help kids.

You can check out information on all of the aspects of the Good Men Project at their website GoodMenProject.org. The excerpts from the book are great!

After I posted my comment on his article, Tom Matlack wrote me in email, and asked if I would be willing to write an article about Walkabout. I told him I would and it took awhile but I finally got it done. The article I wrote is entitled Walkabout and Other Rites of Passage and it was posted on the Good Men Project blog today – Thanks Tom! I focused on Aboriginal Australia and Native American/First Nation rites of passage as I have a passion for both of these peoples and their ways of life.

You can read a little of the the Good Men Project book through the Amazon “Look In” feature here: The Good Men Project: Real Stories from the Front Lines of Modern Manhood

