Skip to content

Faithful Warrior and other books by Basil Sands

May 20, 2012

[tweetmeme source=”mypassionisbooks” only_single=false]I can’t believe I only found Basil Sands’ books in July/August 2011 through PodioBooks.com when I was lucky enough to be able to obtain a copy of his audiobook, 65 Below which was a another great book of his, by the way.

A friend downloaded a copy of it for me and mailed me a disk with it, and a couple other PodioBooks.com audiobooks that were too big for me to download on my Verizon Wireless capped and expensive Internet service (only viable option in our area).

65 Below was such a great book that it was awarded 5/5 stars in every area on Podiobooks.com – for Audio Quality, Narration Quality, Writing Quality, and Overall Rating. It was not only written by Basil Sands, but narrated by him as well, and it was so good that I donated to PodioBooks.com because of Basil Sands’ 65 Below audiobook.

After ‘reading’ 65 Below, I found Basil Sands website and blog, and went to Amazon and found that 65 Below was in Kindle Edition there, so I bought the Kindle Edition to say thank you to Basil Sands directly for offering the audiobook for free at PodioBooks.com for so long.

Some time later, I went to a Starbucks in a town across the river that has great throughput on wireless, and downloaded another Basil Sands book from PodioBooks.com called In The Shadows (which Basil Sands still has available for free at PodioBooks.com). Another great and enjoyable book of short stories that also got nearly 5/5 across the boards at PodioBooks.com (shame they didn’t leave those ratings there when they had to remove it).

Recently, I went back to PodioBooks.com to get the link to 65 Below, so I could include the PodioBook.com link when I wrote a review, but found that 65 Below was gone except for a skeleton page.

I had also been a part of a site called Audio Book Community. Unfortunately, they moved solely to Facebook which barred anyone who doesn’t do Facebook from continuing to be a part of the community. So I joined some groups over at LinkedIn for audiobooks and narration since eventually I want to start doing narration myself, and amazingly enough, I found that Basil Sands was on LinkedIn a part of those groups. How cool is that!

As it turns out, I had just started ‘reading’ his audiobook version of In The Shadows from Podiobooks.com, when I talked to Basil Sands in a message about how much I enjoyed his book 65 Below and let him know what I had done to say thank you to him for writing it and making it available for free on PodioBooks.com and that I went back and couldn’t find it and was curious about that.

He explained why that was and I totally understood, and thanked him for making them available for so long on PodioBooks.com.

As a thank you to me as an appreciative reader, Basil Sands was kind enough to provide me with a copy of his latest work, Faithful Warrior in audiobook format not long before the audiobook went public. NOTE: I don’t think he realized I do reviews of books on occasion as well until after he gave it to me when I mentioned that I would do a review of the book.

FaithfulWarrior by Basil Sands

Faithful Warrior by Basil Sands

All I can say is Wow! Fantastic, action packed book. It keeps you on the edge of your seat from start to finish. I was thrilled to be able to read it. When I finished it, I decided it was time to do a bit of a review of the book for our readers here at MyPassionIsBooks.com. So besides what I just said about it, here goes.

Let’s start with Basil Sand’s own blurb about the book:

Available as Paperback and Ebook, Faithful Warrior is one of Basil’s personal favorites. You’ll even find a couple of characters you may remember from his previous novels.

Pastor Michael Farris was a well loved man. Loving husband and father, Shepherd of his church, Courageous minister to the inner city gangs of Columbus Ohio. He helped people change their lives for the better. But when his peaceful life is suddenly shattered by a senseless drive by shooting, a side of Pastor Farris that almost no one knew comes to the surface…a violent shadow of a life that he had been able to keep secret all these years. As he seeks to right the crimes committed against him he is unexpectedly confronted by a ghost from his past, and Mike Farris suddenly finds himself in a race against the clock to stop an insane terrorist from killing thousands, maybe even millions in one fell swoop.

This book was one of Basil Sands favorites, and after reading it, I can see why!

At the time Basil Sands wrote that blurb for Faithful Warrior, the audiobook version at Audible.com wasn’t available yet, but Faithful Warrior is now also recently made available through Audible.com, Amazon.com, and likely iTunes too because of their connection with Audible for audiobooks.

Basil Sands was absolutely right. I did find a couple characters I remembered from his 65 Below and In The Shadows books! I love it when characters are carried over from previous books like that. It is like old home week to read about characters you already know and love. The cool thing is though, you don’t have to have known them ahead of time to enjoy the book. That’s just an added bonus for his readers. I love it!

Basil Sands sure knows how to make characters that are easy to get to know and care about. All the people in the book have great depth and the heroes have great depth of character. Basil helps you to get to know them very well with expressive and detailed descriptions and conversational hints as well as showing through their actions the true character of the people. Even if you don’t get to know them for long, you will get to know them well enough to truly feel for their situation. So in that respect, it’s like many great books.

The details of the story line, the inter-workings of government agencies, the military and churches, the espionage and intrigue, the danger and terror, and the care in the details of the people in the book, all wrapped in a way that helps you see them very well; to feel like a part of it all and he helps you to gain an understanding of all facets that are brought out in the book all along the way. The timelines are kept unique, but their characters of course overlap in a way that shows relevancy for the current day part of the story. Did I mention the graphic details of munitions, technology, and how they are used and abused by those in the story? If you are the least bit techie, or have a military flair or background, you will love this story. My Dad was in the army and I am a computer technician by trade, so I fit right in.

I couldn’t help but love the main character, Pastor Farris, and feel everything he experienced. The good, the bad, the ugly. And I hoped for good things for him so much in the book. His friends were fantastic as well and the faithful loyalty he garnered from his old friends was palpable and he returned it in kind. It wasn’t long till his new friends appreciated him and who he was, and also felt great caring and loyalty to Pastor Farris. All these people were just as deep, energetic, knowledgeable, intelligent and loyal as he was. They all just clicked. And given the storyline, they really needed to be a great team.

Sometimes I wonder if Basil Sands isn’t a writer that can, at least in part, take up the mantle of Michael Crichton, one of my favorite authors who, sadly is no longer with us. Basil Sands also has some Tom Clancy in him and many other excellent writers of thrillers/fiction. It isn’t that he is like any one of them, and he isn’t mimicking them either. He is his own man in his writing. But it is that kind of drawing you in and keeping you right there that I love about his writing. The depth of character built quickly and well, the intense storyline, the intrigue — in some ways it reminds me of the book State of Fear which I also love. It’s not that the stories are even remotely similar, but there was something about both of them. It is almost impossible to put any of Basil Sands books down once you start reading, especially Faithful Warrior.

Faithful Warrior has become my all time favorite Basil Sands book so far, but I have loved them all. As a thank you for the gift that Basil Sands gave me of the audiobook version, I have purchased the Kindle version of Faithful Warrior from Amazon listed at the bottom of this article.

Below is Basil Sands Biography that he provided to Amazon for his Basil Sands Amazon page:

Basil Sands Biography

Author of three action packed novels and ten short stories, Basil built an audience of tens of thousands of listeners to the online audio versions of his books. His stories have been called “Pulse Pounding” and “Breathtaking”. Give them a read and judge for yourself.

Basil does not just write stories, but has lived a lot of what they contain. The backdrop for his writing started with his birth in rural interior Alaska and his school years among the Ohio cornfields where he wished to be anywhere else as long as it was exciting. He has lived in Alaska, San Diego, DC, Baltimore, and Ohio. He tried a career in the Marines. After injuries sent him home early he worked at the NSA, owned a computer shop, was a carpenter, farmer, actor, lumberjack, voice actor, EMT, network admin, helpdesk supervisor, Boy Scout leader, IT trainer, radio talk host, youth minister, and was a sergeant in the Alaska Defense Force Coastal Scouts.
Until a ski injury in 2008 he had been an avid weight lifter and could bench press 420 lbs. Now he’s limited to a bit on the eliptical machine each day and hefting his laptop and an occasional pint of Guinness.

He lives in Anchorage Alaska with his wife and sons.

Basil Sands offerings of his books from his website

Just a couple other reviews or pages from other book review sites of Faithful Warrior by Basil Sands:

Faithful Warrior by Basil Sands – Reviews, Discussions, Bookclubs, Lists – goodreads.com

Faithful Warrior – Free Audio Review

Amazon and Audible Links:

Faithful Warrior [Paperback] – Amazon

Faithful Warrior at Amazon [Kindle Edition]

Faithful Warrior – Audible

65 Below at Amazon [Kindle Edition]

Comments are closed.

