Skip to content

Initial thoughts… on the Audible version of Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card

December 10, 2012

Initial thoughts… on the Audible version of Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card – MrAnderson.info

Thank you Mr Anderson to kindly allow us to reprint your MrAnderson.info article about Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card:

Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card

Pathfinder by Orson Scott Card

I’m a newbie when it comes to the wonderful world of audio-books. I’ve enjoyed a few to wet my appetite. Currently I’m in the middle of 4 books! I know! One that gets a bit more play/reading time is Pathfinder by Orson Scott CardPreview this short URL.

I’m not quite done with the book yet, but I’ve gotten through enough to give initial thoughts…

Each chapter has two parts to it, two stories, that no doubt will continue to converge at some point. Each section, at least at the beginning of the audio-book was read by a different narrator. I’ve now run into a few chapters where there has been a completely different narrator for the main part of the chapter… which totally kills the flow, especially when I find the new narrator’s voice annoying!

Seriously, check Audible’s site for Pathfinder: Book 1Preview this short URL, it has five, yes FIVE different narrators listed!!!  Not cool.

P.S. The way that I’ve been listening to the audio-books, is while I’m reading them on my Kindle. I know kinda strange, but I enjoy reading along.

Audible: Pathfinder: Book 1 (17 hrs and 46 mins)

Only a single acronym removed from Mr. Anderson’s republished article at his suggestion.

I can totally understand Mr. Anderson’s concerns about how it was recorded. He mentioned to me  that there were some  chapters that were apparently redone after the fact for some reason. Or had to be finished by another narrator for some reason. But this happened late in the book. Of course, I could only listen to the sample at Audible and it sounded like I heard two different narrators in the sample playing different parts; which would make sense and that sounded really good. One of the narrators was Kirby Heyborne who I really enjoyed when he read Little Brother (YA book) by Cory Doctorow.

I have read some audiobooks with multiple narrators/readers, but they each played different parts which made sense.

One Comment
  1. January 31, 2013 10:39 AM

    I agree. Each change in narrator corresponded with a change in a different character in the book narrating from their own point view and their own personality. So the voice changes made perfect sense and gave a real sense that the perspective was being narrated by this other character. Not something that could have been accomplished at all in the same way and feel otherwise.

    Like

Comments are closed.

