Skip to content

Michael Crichton’s Jurassic Park

July 1, 2013

I just finished reading Michael Crichton’s Jurassic Park (circa 1990ish) via my Kindle. Wow what a great novel. So many differences between it and the movie. I have to re-read The Lost World again to follow up! 😀 – me via ADN

. . : : SPOILER ALERT : : . .

I must say Lex almost ruined the book for me. She is so annoying throughout the ENTIRE book. I wanted to reach right into the story and slap her silly. I was actually rooting for Tim to punch her out a few times. Seriously! There were so many opportunities for a dinosaur to just bite her hands off… She was so obnoxious that I probably would have cheered out loud if she had been eaten by a dinosaur.

Malcolm was a great, and integral part of the story. It’s a shame that he didn’t make it in the novel.

Hammond – what an egomaniac. He didn’t even care about the safety of his grandchildren, just about his park and ‘his’ animals! He got what he deserved in the end… although he shouldn’t have gone so peacefully. What a shame. LOL

Regarding the adult T-REX… It was never really made clear why it kept hunting Grant and the Kids. Was it following them via smell? It ate numerous times throughout the novel but continued to hunt them.

Post updated: 2013-06-30 @ 03:59:08 PM (GMT – 5:00)

 

Reprinted with permission from @7nk / @7nk original article on his site: MrAnderson.info

One Comment
  1. July 1, 2013 10:26 AM

    I loved this book! And just about every other Michael Crichton book I have ever read! I started going through them while Mr. Anderson and I were talking about this book, and I couldn’t believe how many I have already read … and how few that really is in his entire catalog of books he has written! Proverbial drop in the bucket!

    Can’t wait to read the rest. Most of them I sought because I saw them as movies first. I think the first book made into a movie that I saw of his was West World. Haven’t read the book on that one yet. But I will!

    Oh, and by the way, Lex was a little brat in the book! More than she was in the movie.

    Like

Comments are closed.

